Balneus

Australian Lefty on Politics, Governance, Science and Info Management

Bargaining Power Index – interesting ideas

Posted by Dave Bath on 2007-06-19


Another stimulating post from VoxEU.org on 2007-06-15 is Inequality and institutions in 20th century America by Levy and Temin, two Economics Professors of MIT which talks about a Bargaining Power Index.

It discusses outcomes for general workers in the free market, with and without institutionalized controls, (in an American context).  It would certainly be interesting to see an analysis done using Australian data to influence discussion of industrial relations policies of the two major parties, including WorkChoices The Bill That Cannot Be Named.

I’ll quote the abstract and one of the more interesting paragraphs.

First, the abstract: (my bolding):

Rising American inequality stems from efficiency-enhancing policy changes in the 1970s and 1980s. There is growing recognition that the current free-market income distribution – the combination of large inequalities and stagnant wages for many workers – creates its own “soft” inefficiencies as people become disenchanted with existing economic arrangements.

And here are what the authors see as implications: (my bolding):

We argue instead that the Golden Age relied on market outcomes strongly moderated by institutional factors.  Following the literature on economic growth that emphasises the role of institutions in economic outcomes, we argue that institutions and norms affect the distribution of economic rewards as well as their aggregate size.  Our argument leads to an explanation of earnings levels and inequality in which skill-biased technical change, globalisation and related factors function within an institutional framework.  In our interpretation, the recent impacts of technology and trade have been amplified by the collapse of these institutions, a collapse which arose because economic forces led to a shift in the political environment over the 1970s and 1980s.  If our interpretation is correct, no rebalancing of the labour force can restore a more equal distribution of productivity gains without government intervention and changes in private sector behavior.


See Also:
the 55-page academic article by Levy and Temin Inequality and institutions in 20th century America that was the source for the VoxEU post that stimulated my thoughts.
Dani Rodrik’s (a Harvard Prof) review of the original paper.


14 Responses to “Bargaining Power Index – interesting ideas”

  1. Howdy I am so thrilled I found your weblog, I really found you
    by error, while I was searching on Aol for something else, Anyhow I am here
    now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a tremendous post and
    a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have
    saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have
    time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.

  2. rain gauge said

    What you posted was very reasonable. But, what about this?
    what if you were to write a awesome headline? I ain’t suggesting your content isn’t solid, however what if you
    added something to possibly get folk’s attention?
    I mean Bargaining Power Index – interesting
    ideas Balneus is a little plain. You might look at Yahoo’s
    home page and note how they create news headlines to grab people interested.
    You might add a video or a picture or two to grab readers excited about everything’ve written.
    Just my opinion, it could make your website a little bit more interesting.

  3. Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend
    your site, how could i subscribe for a blog web site?
    The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had
    been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear
    concept

  4. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d
    like to shoot you an e-mail. I’ve got some creative ideas for
    your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

  5. It is appropriate time to make a few plans for the future and it’s time to be happy.

    I’ve read this submit and if I may just I desire to suggest you some interesting things
    or suggestions. Perhaps you could write subsequent articles
    referring to this article. I wish to learn even more issues approximately it!

  6. Hey I am so excited I found your blog, I really found you by mistake,
    while I was searching on Askjeeve for something else, Anyways I am here
    now and would just like to say many thanks for a remarkable post
    and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have
    time to read it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have
    time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.

  7. Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with Search
    Engine Optimization? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good results.
    If you know of any please share. Cheers!

  8. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into
    any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My website has a lot of unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up
    all over the internet without my permission. Do you know any solutions to help prevent content
    from being stolen? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  9. Hello, I read your blogs on a regular basis. Your humoristic style is
    awesome, keep up the good work!

  10. My spouse and I stumbled over here by a different page and thought I might check things out.

    I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward
    to checking out your web page repeatedly.

  11. Buford said

    26, 2014, with fans of Sean Lowe and Catherine Giudici excited to watch the couple tie the knot on live
    TV. She appears like she should be a scout troop, rather than gaining style icon
    plaudits. The music was pumping, the sun was shining and there really was no place I
    would rather be on a Vegas Saturday.

  12. I all the time used to read article in news papers but
    now as I am a user of net thus from now I am using net for content, thanks to web.

  13. You should take part in a contest for one of
    the greatest websites on the net. I am going to recommend this blog!

  14. Gregory said

    Hurrah! In the end I got a website from where I be able to really get valuable information regarding my study and
    knowledge.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

