Balneus

Australian Lefty on Politics, Governance, Science and Info Management

Parliamentary dog gets a stern chat

Posted by Dave Bath on 2009-02-16


I’m glad to report that the parliamentary webmanager has delivered a further response to my complaint a little while back – and it’s exactly the response I’d hoped for.  (The first response was an acknowledgement they had received my note and were looking into it).  Here is a snippet:

I have spoken to the areas that support the Parliament’s website, and we are now reviewing our procedures to ensure, as far as we can, that any expected interruptions to business are notified on the website as soon as possible.

Thank you for raising this issue.

I get the feeling that someone in the parliamentary IT section, possibly the webmanager, is dancing around, yelling "yippee, we got something in a risk register and so can tidy up things I’ve been wanting to tidy up for some time!"

I can relate to that!

And a snippet from my response:

Review of requirements and development of improved procedural checklists are all that can reasonably be expected, and I thank you for letting me know you are doing this.

Unless there is evidence that someone has noticed a problem, and has the issue formally registered, process improvement efforts rarely get the required resources, despite the best efforts of senior technical staff…

2 Responses to “Parliamentary dog gets a stern chat”

  1. zombinol said

    On the first read the response does indeed cater for a good outcome, however on a second read I tuned into the corporate speak – “I have spoken to the areas that support the Parliament’s website”, this appears to be Suitiush code speak for “We did not officially lodge the request with the areas that support the Parliament’s website”

    And “… areas that support the Parliament’s website” is nebulous Suitiush code speak which does not indicate that a specific area was consulted, sort of like “Written and authorised by the Australian Government”, which does not identify any real entity that could be accountable.

    But then again you may have had rare luck and just struck a real person trying to assist you.

  2. Dave Bath said

    Zombinol@1:
    As you know, I’ve have more than a few dealings with suitspeak (including downright lies in “threads” that had a severe impact on my health and career).

    In this case, I’m trying to be nice.

    Please also read the latest “fumble” – email getting lost in aph.gov.au

Leave a Reply

 
