Balneus

Australian Lefty on Politics, Governance, Science and Info Management

Archive for March 19th, 2009

Submission made to Gene Patents Inquiry

Posted by Dave Bath on 2009-03-19

After discussing the gene patent inquiry a while back, I almost forgot to send my thoughts in… but I did.  Most of the submissions were pretty good, and the criticism of American patent law by American Law Professors (Sub 17 and Sub 17 Attachment 1) is a beauty.

It is also worth looking at the Australian Law Reform Commission’s submission (Sub 18), which was pretty much "we had this inquiry in 2004, nothing was done, we still say the same things, so get off your loathsome spotty behinds and DO something this time."

I was happy that I stressed that specific legislation and regulations could be counterproductive in the future, as no other published versions (I didn’t refer to them until after I wrote mine) mentioned this, although a later one did, and much better than I.  I also think I was the only person to suggest crowd-sourcing the scientific community to reject intellectual property claims that were really discoveries or prior art.

Anyway… my submission is over the fold (with a touch of reformatting…. no spelling errors changed) or you can pull down my PDF which is a bit prettier.

Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in Australia, Biology and Health, Economics and Business, Governance, Law, Legislation, Politics | 1 Comment »

Wikileaks via Google Cache

Posted by Dave Bath on 2009-03-19

Conroy and the Australian Concept Management Authority cannot get angry at me for linking to Google, can they?

So… I’ll link to the Google Cache of the relevant page…. and there are snippets just pulled out over the fold.

If Conroy takes on the might of Google, it will be an interesting and educational fight!

http://google.com/search?q=cache:http://wikileaks.org/wiki/Australia_secretly_censors_Wikileaks_press_release_and_Danish_Internet_censorship_list,_16_Mar_2009

http://google.com/search?q=cache:http://wikileaks.org/wiki/Australian_Government_censorship_of_US_anti-abortion_site_abortiontv.com,_21_Jan_2009

So… go to google, enter the search terms and add the magic extra term as follows " +site:wikileaks.org ", then click on the cached version rather than attempt to go directly.

I’ll probably nut out an idiot guide for the way-back machine and let you know (useful if the google cache isn’t available)… or you can add a comment yourself

You can probably also get to the Wikileaks Facebook Page

And Thaliand censors sites in Australia, Canada… notionally for insulting the king. (Now to stuff just pulled from wikileaks via the Google cache:

Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in Australia, Civil rights, Information Management, Politics | 44 Comments »